Home Page...
Add this page to your favorites...



This technique involves driving into the ground (horizontally) a steel casing under an obstacle. The steel casing is pounded in using an air hammer operating on compressed air. Once the sleeve has been installed over the desired distance, the contents can be removed using an auger system or compressed air and water. The conduits can then be inserted inside the steel liner. If necessary, the annulus between the steel liner and the conduit can be filled in with cement grout.

As in the case of horizontal drilling, an entry pit and an exit pit must be dug to the required depth. This type of drilling can be done at required grade, but it can not be done when a curbed trajectory is required (as can be done with horizontal directional drilling).

   Drilling under Route 17, Ontario, Canada
   Length drilled: 40 metres (sand/clay)
   Hole diameter: 1060 millimetres
   Conduit installed for the passage of natural gas


We have a wide array of ramming tools manufactured in Germany. In accordance with the diameter of the conduit to be installed, we select the appropriate steel liner, along with the air hammer with the required capacities. Since 1988, we have used this technique many times for various types of projects, from the simplest to the most difficult.


Important : Before any project is begun, exploration boreholes and a complete geotechnical investigation must be conducted so that we can evaluate all possible difficulties and determine the drilling trajectory. Contact us for more information.



Ideally, pipe ramming is used for soft ground that does not contain any blocks (sand, silt, clay and gravel). Formations containing stones, roots and various fill materials are to be avoided. Over the years, we have succeeded in many drilling projects using this technique in order to install conduits for gas, water mains, electricity, sewers and fibre optics. Using our adapted machinery, we can pass through varied obstacles such as: :

Roads and highways;
Railroads;
Rivers;
Buildings;
etc.

Accès à l'accueil français...
Ajoutez les coordonnées de cette page à vos favoris...



Cette technique consiste à foncer dans le sol (à l'horizontal) une gaine d'acier sous un obstacle. La gaine d'acier est foncée par percussion à l'aide d'un marteau pneumatique fonctionnant à l'air comprimé. Lorsque la gaine a parcouru la distance requise, on peut vider son contenu à l'aide d'une tarière mécanique ou en utilisant de l'air comprimé ou de l'eau. Les conduites peuvent alors être insérées à l'intérieur de la gaine d'acier. Au besoin, l'espace annulaire entre la gaine d'acier et la conduite peut être bétonné.

Comme dans le cas d'un forage horizontal, un puits de départ ainsi qu'un puits d'arrivée doivent être aménagés à la profondeur requise. On peut effectuer ce type de forage en pente, mais on ne peut le réaliser lorsqu'une trajectoire courbe est nécessaire (comme on peut le faire dans le cas d'un forage dirigé).

Forage sous l'autoroute 17, Ontario, Canada
Longueur forée de 40 mètres (sable/argile)
Trou d'un diamètre de 1060 millimètres
Conduit installé pour le passage de gaz naturel


Nous possédons une vaste gamme des marteaux pneumatiques Grundoram fabriqués en Allemagne. Selon le diamètre de la conduite à installer, nous sélectionnons la gaine d'acier appropriée, de même que le marteau pneumatique ayant les capacités requises. Depuis 1988, nous avons employé cette technique à de nombreuses reprises pour divers types de projets, des plus simples aux plus difficiles.


Important : Au préalable, des sondages doivent être réalisés pour que nous puissions évaluer toutes les difficultés possibles et déterminer la trajectoire du forage. Contactez-nous pour de plus amples renseignements.

utilisation.gif (496 bytes)
Idéalement, le fonçage de gaine d'acier par percussion doit être utilisé pour des sols meubles dépourvus de bloc (sable, silt, argile et gravier). Les formations contenant des cailloux, des racines et différents matériaux de remblai sont à éviter. Au fil des ans, nous avons réussi plusieurs traverses à l'aide de cette technique pour l'installation de conduites de gaz, d'aqueduc, d'électricité, d'égout ou de fibres optiques. Grâce à notre machinerie adaptée, nous pouvons passer sous de nombreux obstacles aussi variés que :

routes et autoroutes,
voies ferrées,
rivières,
bâtiments,
etc.